Chinese Five Arts and Zi Wei Dou Shu

In Chinese Metaphysics, they are broadly classified under five major families. It’s also known as Five Arts (中国五术).


 Mountain (山)

Practitioners largely engage themselves with mental, spiritual and physical developments. In ancient time, these pracititioners isolated themselves and practised in mountainous areas where they were completely cut-off from socialization. This is how the name “Mountain” derived to describe their reclusiveness.

  • Cultivation (修养)
  • Religion (宗教)
  • Martial Arts (拳法)
  • Meditation (静坐)
  • Seclusion (闭关)

Medical (医)

Chinese medical or commonly known as Traditional Chinese Medicine (TCM). It has a documented history of 2,000 years.

  • Herbalism (中药)
  • Acupuncture (针灸)
  • Massage and Reflexology (推拿)

Divination (卜)

This involves systematic methods in attempting to gain insight into a question or situation. Divination is more predictive in nature.

  • Oracles (卜挂)
  • Plum Blossom (梅花易数)
  • Tai Yi (太乙)
  • Qi Men Dun Jia (奇门遁甲)
  • Da Liu Ren (大六壬)

Destiny (命)

Unlike Divination, Destiny science does not predict but decodes by interpreting a person’s life calculated based on his birth date, birth time and gender classification.

  • Zi Wei Dou Shu (紫微斗数)
  • BaZi (八字)
  • Qi Zheng Si Yu (七政四余)

Physiognomy (相)

This involves the assessment of relationships between the subject and the external variables. For a person, Physiognomy means the interpretation of his destiny through his appearances; this includes facial reading or chiromancy (palm reading). For a house, it means the connectivity between the owner with the house orientation and the balance of its surrounding chemistry.

  • Feng Shui (风水)
  • Face reading (面相)
  • Palmistry (手相)

Leave a Comment